Newton with Scales

Select map to view larger area
NEWTON, a township, conjoint with Scales, in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, and adjacent to the Preston and Wyre railway, 1¼ mile E S E of Kirkham. Acres, 1,525; of which 295 are water. Real property, 2,647. Pop., 286. Houses, 62. The property is subdivided. A blue-coat school, for maintaining, clothing, and educating poor native boys and girls, was founded here in 1707, by John Hornbie; was re-built in 1864; and has an endowed income of about 600.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Newton with Scales.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton with Scales area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Newton with Scales area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Newton with Scales which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Newton with Scales to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Newton with Scales was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Newton with Scales and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD449308 (Lat/Lon: 53.770611, -2.837482), Newton with Scales which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newton with Scales was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.