North Meols

Select map to view larger area
MEOLS (NORTH), a village, a township, a sub-district, and a parish in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands on a rivulet, 1 mile from the coast, and 2½ NE of Southport r. station; bears the name of Churchtown; and has a post office of that name under Southport, and a fair on the Monday and Tuesday after 20 Aug.-The township contains also the town of Southport, and the hamlets of Southaws, Hawside, Little London, Higher Blowick, Lower Blowick, Rowe-Lane, Marshside, Crossens, and Banks. Acres, 18,871; of which 10,805 are foreshore-water. Real property, 48,226. Pop. in 1851, 8,694; in 1861, 14,661. Houses, 2,585. The increase of pop. was chiefly in Southport; and arose, there and elsewhere, principally from house-building for mercantile men, and from the establishing of boarding-schools. The property is much subdivided. The manor belongs to the Rev. Charles Hesketh and the Trustees of the late Scarisbrick, Esq. North Meols Hall was formerly the seat of the Heskeths, and is now a farm-house. Hand-loom silk weaving is a principal employment. The sub-district is conterminate with the township. The parish contains also the township of Birkdale; and comprises 10,301 acres of land, and 14,240 acres of water. Real property, 53,178. Pop. in 1851, 9,319; in 1861, 15,947. Houses, 2,822. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Valne, 844. Patron, the Rev.Hesketh. The church stands at Churchtown; consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with tower and spire; and contains monuments to the Heskeths and the Fleetwoods. Three vicarages of Southport, and those of Crossens, Banks, and Birkdale are separate benefices. Chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists, a national school, and charities 22 are in North Meols ecclesiastical section; and ten dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, and three national schools are in Southport.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for North Meols.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the North Meols area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the North Meols area is Sefton North.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of North Meols which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from North Meols to another place.

Genealogy

ENG-LAN-SOUTHPORT is an e-mail list for Southport genealogy.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of North Meols contained the townships of North Meols and Birkdale.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Maps

View maps of North Meols and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD365186 (Lat/Lon: 53.660012, -2.962405), North Meols which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, North Meols was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The North Meols Civic Society.

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.