Old Laund Booth

Select map to view larger area
LAUND-BOOTH (OLD), a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; near the river Henburn, and the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 3 miles N of Burnley. Acres, 410. Pop., 481

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Nelson library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Old Laund Booth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Old Laund area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Old Laund area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Old Laund which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Old Laund to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Old Laund was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Old Laund and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD822376 (Lat/Lon: 53.834347, -2.271962), Old Laund which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Old Laund was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.