Oldham
OLDHAM, a town, a township, several chapelries, two sub-districts, and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands on an elevation between the rivers Irk and Medlock, near the source of the former and near the W bank of the upper part of the latter, on branches of the Northwestern and the Lancashire and Yorkshire railways, at the junction-terminus of the Oldham, Ashton-under-Lyne and Guide-Bridge railway, and at a branch canal from the Rochdale and other canals, 7 miles N E of Manchester. The Roman road from Westmoreland into Yorkshire passed through its site, and can still be traced in the vicinity; but scarcely any other vestiges of antiquity about it either meet the eye or figure on record. The town, in despite of its name, is all comparatively modern, and makes little or no appearance in history. It originated in the introduction of textile manufactures, seemingly in the time of Charles I.; it acquired an impulse by the introduction of the factory-system about the year 1770; it acquired a still greater impulse by the expiration of Arkwright's patents in 1783 and 1789, and by the introduction of the steam-engine; it got great advantage from the existence of numerous and valuable coal mines in the immediate vicinity; it reaped benefit from successively the water-power of the neighbouring streams, the formation of the canals, and the formation of the railways; and, under combination of these advantages with local enterprise and skill, it rose, within the limits of the township, from a pop. of 12,024 in 1801 to a pop. of 72,333 in 1861. more ...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
The best source of local information is:
Oldham Local Studies and Archives,
84 Union Street,
Oldham OL1 1DN
Email: local.studies@oldham.gov.uk
Cemeteries
- Greenacres Rd, Cemetery, Greenacres
- Bridge St, Christadelphian
- St Thomas, Glebe Lane, Church of England, Moorside
- St James, Barry St, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Lane, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Church St East, Church of England, Waterhead
- Regent Street, Congregational
- Radcliffe St, Congregational, Springhead
- Galland St, Independent, Greenacres
- Hope, Bower St, Independent
- Greenacres Rd, Independent Methodist, Greenacres
- St Mary, Shaw St, Roman Catholic
The Registrar of Cemeteries and Crematorium
Environmental Services Department
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
P.O. Box 30
Civic Centre
West Street
Oldham
Lancashire OL1 1UQTelephone No: 0161 681 1312
Fax: 0161 683 5233
Email:ENV.Cemeteries@oldham.gov.uk
The records for the municipal cemeteries are held at Hollinwood Cemetery:
Hollinwood Cemetery & Crematorium
Roman Road
Hollinwood
OldhamTelephone number 0161 681 1312
The municipal cemeteries and their opening dates are as follows: Chadderton (1857), Greenacres (1857), Lees (1879), Royton (1879), Failsworth (1887), Hollinwood (1889) and Crompton (1891).
Monumental inscriptions for the following graveyards have been published by the LFH&HS.
- Bardsley Parish Church.
- Greenaces Congregational.
- Society of Friends, Heyside, Royton
- St James, Oldham.
- Methodist New Connexion.
- Regent St Congregational Oldham.
- Zion Methodist Chapel, Lees.
- St Thomas, Leesfield, Lees.
- Hope Congregational.
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Oldham.Church History
Church Records
- Bow St, Assembly of God
- Abbeyhills Rd, Austrian Catholic
- Warcock Rd, Baptist, Clarksfield
- Pitt St East, Baptist, Glodwick
- Greenacres Moor, Baptist, Greenacres
- Chamber Rd, Baptist
- Chaucer St, Baptist
- King Street, Baptist
- Manchester St, Baptist
- Wood Street, Catholic Apostolic
- Bridge St, Christadelphian
- Union St, Christadelphian
- Bank Top, Christian Brethren
- Manchester St, Christian Science
- St Barnabas, Arundel St, Church of England, Clarksfield
- Holy Trinity, Godson St, Church of England, Coldhurst
- St Thomas, St Thomas's Circle, Church of England, Coppice
- Christ Church, Hamilton St, Church of England, Glodwick
- St Mark, Glodwick Road, Church of England, Glodwick
- St Cuthbert, Tanners Fold, Church of England, Hathershaw
- St Paul, Ashton Rd, Church of England, Hathershaw
- St Stephen and all Martyrs, Shaw St, Church of England, Lowermoor
- St Stephen and all Martyrs, Thames St, Church of England, Lowermoor
- St Thomas, Glebe Lane, Church of England, Moorside
- All Saints, Chadderton Rd, Church of England, Northmoor
- St Andrew, Winterbottom St, Westhill, Church of England
- St James, Barry St, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Lane, Church of England
- St Matthew with St Aidan, Roundthorn Rd, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Church St East, Church of England, Waterhead
- St Ambrose, Prince Charlie St, Church of England, Waterhead
- St John, St John's St, Church of England, Werneth
- St Michael and All Angels, Crossbank St, Church of England, Werneth
- York St, Church of the Nazarene
- Ashton Road, Congregational, Hathershaw
- Derker St, Congregational
- Ferney Bank, Townfield, Congregational
- Regent Street, Congregational
- Skipton St, Abbeyhills, Congregational
- Union St, Congregational
- Ebenezer, Pastures, Scouthead, Congregational
- Radcliffe St, Congregational, Springhead
- Church St, Congregational, Waterhead
- Huddersfield Rd, Congregational, Waterhead
- Providence St, Congregational, Waterhead
- Windsor Rd, Coppice, Congregational, Werneth
- Greenacres Rd, Elim Foursquare, Greenacres
- Lord St, Evangelist
- Lee St, Gospel Mission
- Shree Radha Krishna Temple, Schofield Street, Hindu, Hathershaw
- Shree Radha Krishna, Macdonald St, Hindu
- Shree Swaminarayan Temple, Lee St, Hindu
- Galland St, Independent, Greenacres
- Ashworth St, Independent
- Queen St, Independent
- Hope, Bower St, Independent
- Providence, Independent
- Bethel Chapel, Waterloo St, Independent Evangelical Fellowship, Glodwick
- Ross St, Independent Methodist, Coppice
- Greenacres Rd, Independent Methodist, Greenacres
- Bethesda, Broadway St, Independent Methodist, Hathershaw
- Fern St, Independent Methodist
- George St, Independent Methodist
- King Street, Independent Methodist
- Smith St, Independent Methodist
- St Mary's St, Independent Methodist
- Madina Mosque, Stansfield St, Islamic Centre
- Kingdom Hall, Foundry St, Jehovah's Witness
- Scottfield, Latter Day Saints
- Waterloo St, Methodist, Glodwick
- East Oldham Methodist, Ripponden Road, Methodist, Moorside
- York St, Methodist
- Honeywell Lane, Methodist New Connexion, Hathershaw
- Dalton St, Methodist New Connexion
- Manchester St, Methodist New Connexion
- Roundthorn Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Ebenezer, Union St, Methodist New Connexion
- Spring Hill, Methodist New Connexion, Waterhead
- Manchester St, Methodist New Connexion, Werneth
- Salem, Lees Rd, Moravian
- Westwood, Middleton Rd, Moravian
- Rochdale Road, New Jerusalem, Coldhurst
- Waterloo St, New Testament Church of God, Glodwick
- Churchill St, Particular Baptist, Glodwick
- Horsedge St, Particular Baptist
- Park Road, Plymouth Brethren
- Railway Rd, Plymouth Brethren, Werneth
- King Street, Presbyterian
- Albert Mount, Acre Lane (formerly Elliott St, Lowermoor), Primitive Methodist, Derker
- Bartlemore, Acre Lane, Primitive Methodist, Derker
- Elliott St, Primitive Methodist, Lowermoor
- Ward Street, Primitive Methodist, Northmoor
- Boardman St (formerly Grosvenor St), Primitive Methodist
- Copster Hill Rd, Primitive Methodist
- George St, Primitive Methodist
- Henshaw Street, Primitive Methodist
- Lees Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Middleton Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Scottfield, Primitive Methodist
- St Mary's St, Primitive Methodist
- Wash Brook, Primitive Methodist
- Heywood St, Primitive Methodist, Waterhead
- Sacred Heart of Jesus, Whetstone Hill Road, Roman Catholic, Derker
- Holy Rosary, Fir Tree Avenue, Roman Catholic, Fitton Hill
- St Anne, Cook St, Roman Catholic, Greenacres
- Our Lady, Turf Pit Lane, Roman Catholic, Moorside
- Our Lady of Mount Carmel and St Patrick, Union St West, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Shaw St, Roman Catholic
- St Michael, Warren Lane, Roman Catholic
- Chamber Rd, Salvation Army
- Hope St, Salvation Army
- Lees Rd, Salvation Army
- Roundthorn Rd, Salvation Army
- Union St, Salvation Army
- Lord St, Seventh Day Adventist
- Greaves St, Society of Friends
- Ashton Road, Spiritualist, Hathershaw
- King Street, Spiritualist
- Union St, Spiritualist
- SS Peter & Paul and All Saints, Chadderton Way, Ukranian Catholic Church, Northmoor
- Stansfield St, Ukranian Catholic Church
- Nugget St, Unitarian, Glodwick
- King Street, Unitarian
- Lord St, Unitarian
- King Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Waterloo St, United Methodist Free Church
- Edward Street, United Methodist Free Church, Werneth
- Town Mission, Lees Rd, Unknown
- Union St West, Welsh Presbyterian
- Trinity, Waterloo St, Wesleyan Methodist, Glodwick
- Greenacres Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Greenacres
- Ripponden Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Moorside
- Library Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Northmoor
- George St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lee St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Manchester Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Mount Pleasant, Wesleyan Methodist
- Brunswick, Rutland Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Werneth
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Oldham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The following Church of England registers are to be found at the Oldham Local Studies and Archives:
| All Saints, Newton Heath |
| Christ Church, Chadderton (Baptisms) |
| Christ Church, Friezland |
| Holy Trinity, Bardsley |
| Holy Trinity, Dobcross |
| Holy Trinity, Shaw |
| Holy Trinity, Waterhead |
| St. Anne's Church, Lydgate (Baptisms and burials) |
| St. Chad's, Saddleworth |
| St. James, Oldham (Burials, baptisms) |
| St. John's Werneth (Baptisms, marriages) |
| St. John's, Failsworth |
| St. John's, Hey (Baptisms, burials) |
| St. Margaret's, Hollinwood |
| St. Mary's, Oldham (Parish church) |
| St. Paul's, Royton |
| St. Paul,'s, Scouthead (Baptisms, Marriages) |
| St. Peter'. Oldham |
| St. Thomas', Friarmere (Baptisms, burials) |
| St. Thomas", Leesfield |
| St. Thomas', Moorside |
| St. Mary's, Prestwich |
They also have non-conformist registers.
Civil Registration
Oldham Register Office holds records of births, marriages and deaths since 1837.Description and Travel
Local information about Oldham.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Oldham to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Oldham contained the townships of Oldham, Crompton, Royton, Chadderton, Tonge and Alkrington.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Oldham in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Oldham and places within its boundaries.Oldham town centre.
Newspapers
The Oldham Chronicle.Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Oldham workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Oldham was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Voting Registers
Oldham Local Studies and Archives Library holds a full set of Burgess Roll and Electoral Registers going back to 1850 but the complete run covers the town of Oldham only. There are gaps during both World Wars when registers were not published.Coverage of surrounding districts is good but there are gaps and Royton is not covered for the early 1920s. It is covered for 1851, 1871 - 1915 and 1973 to the present day. Lancashire Record Office in Preston hold registers from 1934 - 1946 but it is an incomplete run.

