Openshaw
|
|
|
|
OPENSHAW, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Manchester and Stockport canal, and on the Manchester, Sheffield, and Lincolnshire railway, 2½ miles E by S of Manchester; contains a large village of its own name; and has a station on the railway, and a post-office under Ashton-under-Lyne. Acres, 571. Real property, £2,866. Pop. in 1851, 3,759; in 1861, 8,623. Houses, 1,688. The increase of pop. arose from the establishment of ironworks and chemical works. The manor belongs to G. Legh, Esq. There are a large cotton mill, weaving-sheds, extensive dye-works, a very extensive manufactory of railway carriages, and a depot for repairs of locomotive engines. The chapelry was constituted in 1840; was, till 1861 or later, conterminate with the township; and was subsequently curtailed, so as to have a pop. of only 2,777. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300. Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1839, at a cost of £4,500; is in the early English style; consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with tower and spire; and contains 800 sittings. A Wesleyan chapel was built in 1864, at a cost of £2,600; is in the Anglo-Italian style; and contains 600 sittings. There are also chapels for New Connexion Methodists. United Free Methodists, and Roman Catholics; and schools, called the Cobden Memorial schools, were built in connexion with the United Free Methodist chapel in 1866, at a cost of about £800. There is likewise a mixednational school, with £25 a year from endowment.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.Cemeteries
- St Barnabas, South Street, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Openshaw.Church History
Church Records
- Wheler St, , Higher Openshaw
- Tabernacle, Mersey Street, Baptist, Higher Openshaw
- Cornwall St, Baptist
- St Clement, Ashton Old Road, Church of England, Higher Openshaw
- St Barnabas, South Street, Church of England
- Lees St, Congregational, Higher Openshaw
- Ashton Old Road, Congregational
- Lees St, Methodist, Higher Openshaw
- Ashton Old Road/Press St (late Princess St), Methodist
- Gransmoor Rd formerly Moor Lane, Methodist New Connexion, Higher Openshaw
- Wheler St, Moravian, Higher Openshaw
- St Paul, Abbey Hey Lane, Presbyterian, Higher Openshaw
- Ashton Old Road, Primitive Methodist, Higher Openshaw
- Clement St, Primitive Methodist, Higher Openshaw
- Clayton Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Tuley Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Anne, Ashton Old Road, Roman Catholic, Higher Openshaw
- St Vincent de Paul, Craydon Street, Roman Catholic
- Fairfield Rd, Salvation Army, Higher Openshaw
- Dyer St, Salvation Army
- Barmouth Street, United Methodist, Lower Openshaw
- Tipton Street (now Barmouth St), United Methodist Free Church
- Wood Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Central Openshaw, Ashton Old Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Beulah Street, WelshWesleyan, Higher Openshaw
- Catherine St, Wesleyan Methodist, Higher Openshaw
- Ashton Old Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Grey Mare Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Openshaw area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Openshaw area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Openshaw which are provided by:Directories
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Openshaw to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Openshaw was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Openshaw in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Openshaw and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ887974 (Lat/Lon: 53.473200, -2.171719), Openshaw which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Occupations
Crossley Brothers built engines on Pottery Lane.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Openshaw was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

