Ormskirk

Select map to view larger area
ORMSKIRK, a town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands on the East Lancashire railway, at the junction of the branch from St. Helens, 2½ miles S E of the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and 12 N by E of Liverpool. The manor belonged, till the Reformation, to Burscough priory; and belongs now to the Earl of Derby. The town is well-built; contains four chief streets, going rectangularly from a central market-place; is governedby a local board of health, and well supplied with gas and water; is a seat of petty sessions and county-courts, and a polling-place; publishes two weekly newspapers; and has a head post-office, a railway station with telegraph, a banking office, two chief inns, a town hall and corn-market, a sessions-house and magistrates' rooms, a news-room and library, a church, three dis-senting chapels, a free grammar-school, a national school, a dispensary, a workhouse, and charities 354. The dissenting chapels are Independent, Wesleyan, and Unitarian. The free grammar-school was founded in 1614, under the will of Henry Ascroft; is a Tudor structure, in Ruff-lane; and has an endowed income of 139. The national school was erected by voluntary contributions; is a stone building in the Tudor style, in Derby-street; possesses capacity forupwards of 800 scholars; and the Sunday school has an endowed income of 28. The dispensary is a small but ornamental building, in the Doric style, in Burscough-street. The workhouse stands in Wigan-road; was built at a cost of about 4,000; and, at the census of 1861, had 76 inmates. A weekly market is held on Thursday; cattle fairs are held on Whit-Monday, Whit-Tuesday, and 10 Sept.; rope-making and hand-loom silk-weavingare carried on; and there are several breweries, and an iron-foundry. Acres of the town, 572. Real property, 13, 597; of which 323 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 6,183; in 1861, 6,426. Houses, 1,193. more ...

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Ormskirk Library,
Burscough Street,
Ormskirk
L39 2EN

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ormskirk.

Church History

Emmanuel Methodist/URC church.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ormskirk area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ormskirk area is West Lancashire

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ormskirk which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ormskirk to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Ormskirk contained the townships of Ormskirk, Skelmersdale, Scarisbrick, Burscough, Lathom, Bickerstaffe and Simonswood.

Maps

View maps of Ormskirk and places within its boundaries.

A map of Ormskirk around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD413085 (Lat/Lon: 53.569801, -2.887872), Ormskirk which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Ormskirk workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ormskirk was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office. Ormskirk and District Family History Society.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.