Orrell
|
|
|
|
ORRELL and FORD, a township in Sefton parish, Lancashire; on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 4½ miles N of Liverpool. Acres, 728. Real property, £2,753. Pop. in 1851, 279; in 1861, 358. Houses, 57. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of trade in Liverpool. Most of the land belongs to the Earl of Sefton. Ford Lodge and Hatton Hall are chief residences.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Orrell.Church History
Church Records
- SS John and James, Monfa Rd, Church of England, Orrell Hey
- Trinity, Rice Lane, Presbyterian, Orrell Park
- Springwell Rd, Presbyterian Church of Wales
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Orrell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Orrell area is Sefton South.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Orrell which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Orrell to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Orrell was a township in the parish of Sefton.Maps
View maps of Orrell and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ347968 (Lat/Lon: 53.463870, -2.985077), Orrell which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Orrell was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

