Osbaldeston

Select map to view larger area
OSBALDESTON, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; near the river Ribble, 4¼ miles N W by N of Blackburn. Acres, 980. Real property, 1,248. Pop., 238. Houses, 49. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Osbaldeston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Osbaldeston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Osbaldeston area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Osbaldeston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Osbaldeston to another place.

Genealogy

Osbaldeston is the ancient home of the Osbaldeston family which may be the oldest Lancashire family. Peter Osbaldeston (peterosbaldeston@btinternet.com) has just completed 25 years research into the Osbaldeston family (including variations, i.e. Osbaldiston, etc).

This work includes 600 pages on the family which includes numerous charts, many photographs and diagrams and includes some photographs on original births and marriage records from the 17th century onwards. There are photographs of all the Osbaldeston Halls and Houses, both exterior and interior. These include Osbaldeston Hall and Oxendale Hall at Osbaldeston, Sunderland in Balderstone Hall (site of) and the present farmhouse; Osbaldeston House at Walton-le-Dale and others.

Also included in this work are the other branches originating from Osbaldeston Hall, Lancashire, namely Hunmanby Hall at Hunmanby,East Yorkshire and Hutton Buscel and Ebberston, East Yorkshire. This includes other important families, i.e. the Mitfords, Amherst, etc. The other important branch researched is the Osbaldeston family of Chadlington and Burford, Oxfordshire. Other lesser branches from all over the UK (Osbaldeston family of Disley, Cheshire) have been researched and charts compiled and this also includes research on many Osbaldeston (and variations - Osbaldiston) throughout the world with particular emphasis on the USA/Canada/Australia & New Zealand.

His main research is contained on a database with some 5,000 Osbaldeston and variations. Most entries contain detailed information all connected back on family lines.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Osbaldeston was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Osbaldeston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD647317 (Lat/Lon: 53.780422, -2.537191), Osbaldeston which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Osbaldeston was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.