Out Rawcliffe

Select map to view larger area
RAWCLIFFE (Out), a township-chapelry in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 4 miles E by N of Poulton r. station, and 5½ W S W of Garstang. Post-town, Great Eccleston, under Garstang. Acres, 4,340, of which 180 are water. Real property, 5,591. Pop., 771. Houses, 135. The manor belongs to the representatives of the late R. W. France, Esq. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 100.* Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre. The church was built in 1838, and is in the Norman style. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Out Rawcliffe.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Out Rawcliffe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Out Rawcliffe area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Out Rawcliffe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Out Rawcliffe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Out Rawcliffe was a township in the parish of St. Michaels on Wyre.

History

Maps

View maps of Out Rawcliffe and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD404419 (Lat/Lon: 53.869870, -2.907902), Out Rawcliffe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Out Rawcliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.