Over Kellet

Select map to view larger area
KELLET (OVER), a township-chapelry in Bolton-le-Sands parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster and Kendal canal, 1½ mile E of Carnforth r. station, and 6½ NNE of Lancaster. It contains the hamlet of Capernwray; and its post town is Burton, Westmoreland. Acres, 3,202. Real property, 3,886; of which 21 are in quarries. Pop., 425. Houses, 89. Capernwray Hall is the seat of G. Marton, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 240.* Patron, Septimus Booker, Esq. The church is early English, has an embattled tower, and was recently restored. A chapel is near Capernwray Hall, and is served by a curate appointed by the vicar. There are a grammar school with 46 a year from endowment, and other charities with 15.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Over Kellett.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Over Kellet area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Over Kellett area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

Information about Over Kellet village.

You can see pictures of Over Kellet which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Over Kellett to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Over Kellett was a township in the parish of Bolton le Sands.

Maps

View maps of and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD522698 (Lat/Lon: 54.121834, -2.732853), Over Kellet which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Over Kellett was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.