Over Wyresdale

Select map to view larger area
WYERSDALE (Over), a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 4¾ miles E by N of Bay-Horse r. station, and 7 SE of Lancaster. Post town, Lancaster. Acres, 16,938. Real property, 4,728. Pop. in 1851, 680; in 1861, 524. Houses, 90. The decrease of pop. arose from the destruction, by fire, of a cotton factory. The manor belongs to H. Garnett, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 170.* Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church is plain. There are Quaker and Wesleyan chapels, and an endowed school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Over Wyresdale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Over Wyresdale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Over Wyresdale area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Over Wyresdale which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Over Wyresdale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Over Wyresdale was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Maps

View maps of Over Wyresdale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD566547 (Lat/Lon: 53.986519, -2.663371), Over Wyresdale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Over Wyresdale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.