Over Wyresdale
|
|
|
WYERSDALE (Over), a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 4¾ miles E by N of Bay-Horse r. station, and 7 SE of Lancaster. Post town, Lancaster. Acres, 16,938. Real property, £4,728. Pop. in 1851, 680; in 1861, 524. Houses, 90. The decrease of pop. arose from the destruction, by fire, of a cotton factory. The manor belongs to H. Garnett, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £170.* Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church is plain. There are Quaker and Wesleyan chapels, and an endowed school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Abbeystead Road, Church of England
- Plantation Lane, Society of Friends, Abbeystead
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Over Wyresdale.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Abbeystead Road, Church of England
- Plantation Lane, Society of Friends, Abbeystead
- Emmetts, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Over Wyresdale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

