Overton
|
|
|
|
OVERTON, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Lancaster parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Lune, within the peninsula between it and the sea, 2½ miles N N E of the river's month, and 3½ S W of Lancaster r. station; and occupies the site of a Roman settlement. The township contains also the hamlets of Sunderland and Saltmarshes, and bears the name of Overton and Sunderland. Acres, 6,314. Real property, £2,042. Pop. in 1851, 334; in 1861, 305. Houses, 67. The property is divided chiefly between two. The chapelry is conterminate with the township. The living is a p.curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £155. Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church is ancient and has an open turret.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.Cemeteries
- St Helen, Church Grove, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Overton.Church History
Church Records
- St Helen, Church Grove, Church of England
- St Bernard, Yenham Lane, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Overton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Overton area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Overton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Overton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Overton was a township in the parish of Lancaster.Maps
View maps of Overton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD436579 (Lat/Lon: 54.014019, -2.862202), Overton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Overton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

