Padiham
|
|
|
|
PADIHAM, a small town, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Whalley parish and Burnley district, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Calder, 1½ mile N of the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 2½ N W of Rosegrove r. station, and 3 W N W of Burnley; and has a post-office under Burnley, a police station, water-works, gas-works, and a fair on 12 Aug. The township comprises 1,917 acres. Real property, £19,472; of which £3,914 are in mines, and £340 in quarries. Pop.in 1851, 4,509; in 1861, 5,911. Houses, 1,187. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of cotton spinning. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch. Huntroyde Hall, Symondstone Hall, and Gawthorpe Hall are chief residences. Coal is extensively worked; and stone is worked in two quarries. The cotton trade is largely carried on. The chapelry is less extensive than the township. Pop. in 1861, 5,452. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £220.* Patron, Le Gendre N. Starkie, Esq. The old church was an ancient edifice in mixed architecture; contained monuments of the Huntroyde and Gawthorpe families; and was taken down in 1866. The new church was built in 1867, at a cost of about £6,000; is in the style of the middle of the 15th century; comprises nave, aisles, N and S transepts, chancel with chapel in its S side, N vestry, S porch, and S W tower; and contains about 1,000 sittings. A cemetery is near the village, on the old Burnley road. There are chapels for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists, an endowed national school with £27 a year, a British school, and a large Wesleyan school. The sub-district contains also seven other townships of Whalley. Acres, 11,963. Pop., 9,906. Houses, 1,945.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Burnley library.Cemeteries
- Blackburn Road, Cemetery
- St John's Rd, Cemetery
- St Leonard, Church Street, Church of England
- Nazareth Chapel, Church St, Unitarian
- Church St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Hall Hill, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Padiham.Church History
Church Records
- Burnley Rd, Baptist
- Mount Zion, Pendle St, Baptist
- SS Anne and Elizabeth, Hapton Rd, Church of England
- St Leonard, Church Street, Church of England
- St Matthew, Rycliffe Street, Church of England
- Thompson St, Primitive Methodist
- St John the Baptist, St. John's Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Philip the Apostle, Slade Lane, Roman Catholic
- Nazareth Chapel, Church St, Unitarian
- Church St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Hall Hill, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Padiham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Padiham area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Padiham which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Padiham to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Padiham was a township in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Padiham and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD792340 (Lat/Lon: 53.801878, -2.317302), Padiham which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Padiham was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

