Parbold
|
|
|
|
PARBOLD, a township in Eccleston parish, Lancashire; near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 5½ miles N W by W of Wigan. It has a post-office under Ormskirk; and it contains the church of Douglas chapelry. Acres, 1,165. Real property, £3,031; of which £420 are in quarries. Pop., 474. Houses, 92. Parbold Hall is the seat of Mrs. Twining. Parbold hill commands good views to the Isle of Man, and to the mountains of Wales and Cumberland.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Parbold Hill, Church of England, Douglas in Parbold
- Our Lady and All Saints, Lancaster Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Parbold.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Parbold Hill, Church of England, Douglas in Parbold
- Our Lady and All Saints, Lancaster Lane, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Parbold area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Parbold area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Parbold which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Parbold to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Parbold was a township in the parish of Eccleston.Maps
View maps of Parbold and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD493108 (Lat/Lon: 53.591308, -2.767456), Parbold which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Parbold was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

