Parr
|
|
|
|
PARR, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Prescot parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the Sankey canal, the St. Helens railway, and the Liverpooland Manchester railway, 1½ mile E S E of St. Helens r.station; and has a post-office under St. Helens. The township contains also the hamlets of Parr-Flat, Ashton-Green, and Blackbrook. Acres, 1,601. Real property, £35,208; of which £20,292 are in mines, £29 in the canal, and £68 in gas-works . Pop. in 1851, 4,875; in 1861, 8,253. Houses, 1,419. The manor belonged anciently to the family of Parr; one of whom was Sir Thomas Parr. There are extensive collieries, large alkali works, and copper works. The chapelry excludes part of the township, and was constituted in 1844. Pop.in 1861, 4,712. Houses, 824. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Incumbent of St. Helens. The church was built in 1865, in room of a previous one destroyed by fire, but on a different-site. There are a dis-senting chapel, two national schools, and a Roman Catholic school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at St.Helens library.Cemeteries
- St Peter, Broad Oak Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Parr.Church History
Church Records
- St Philip, Derbyshire Hill Road/Fleet Lane, Church of England, Derbyshire Hill
- St Peter, Broad Oak Road, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Traverse Street, Church of England, Parr Mount
- Boardman's Lane, Methodist
- St Vincent de Paul, Derbyshire Hill Rd, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Parr area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Parr area is St Helens.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Parr which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Parr to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Parr was a township in the parish of Prescot.Maps
View maps of Parr and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ532948 (Lat/Lon: 53.447866, -2.706144), Parr which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Parr was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

