Pemberton
|
|
|
|
PEMBERTON, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Wigan parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 2½ miles W of Wigan; and has a station with telegraph on the railway, and a post-office under Wigan. The township comprises 2,868 acres. Real property, £31,319; of which £19,370 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 5,252; in 1861, 6,870. Houses, 1,314. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; contains Newtown, Smithy-Brook, Goose-Green, and Lamberhead-Green; and was constituted in 1838. Pop. in 1861, 8,853. Houses, 1,696. There are several good modern residences, an ancient half-timbered hall, coal-mines, stone-quarries, brick manufactories, cotton mills, and a famous spring. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £300. Patron, the Rector of Wigan. The church was built in 1832, and is a large brick edifice. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, a mechanics' institute, four national schools, and charities £14. The sub-district contains also two other townships. Acres, 6,263. Pop., 10,435. Houses, 2,007.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- St Paul, Warrington Road, Church of England, Goose Green
- St Matthew, Billinge Rd, Church of England, Highfield
- St John, Church St, Church of England
- Wesleyan Methodist, Goose Green
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pemberton.Church History
Church Records
- St Paul, Warrington Road, Church of England, Goose Green
- St Matthew, Billinge Rd, Church of England, Highfield
- St Francis of Assisi, City Road, Church of England, Kitt Green
- St Barnabas, Kitt Green Rd, Church of England, Marsh Green
- St John, Church St, Church of England
- St Mark, Victoria St, Church of England
- Congregational
- Free Gospel
- Fleet St, Independent Methodist, Lamberhead Green
- Chapel St, Primitive Methodist, Lamberhead Green
- Woodford St, Primitive Methodist, Lamberhead Green
- St Cuthbert, Sherwood Drive, Roman Catholic
- United Methodist Free Church, Goose Green
- Loch St, United Methodist Free Church, Lamberhead Green
- Wesleyan Methodist, Goose Green
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pemberton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Pemberton area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pemberton which are provided by:Directories
"PEMBERTON is a township and village in the parish of wigan, two miles W.S.W. of that town, in which are several extensive coal mines, and Hawkley-hall, the residence of the Rev. W. Molineux, a very ancient building. The number of inhabitants in the township, in 1821, was nearly 4,000."Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire - Pigot & Co. 1828
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pemberton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Pemberton was a township in the parish of Wigan.Maps
View maps of Pemberton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD547047 (Lat/Lon: 53.536978, -2.684993), Pemberton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pemberton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

