Pendlebury
|
|
|
|
PENDLEBURY, a village, a township, and two chapelries, in Eccles parish, Lancashire. The village stands on an eminence, near the Manchester and Bolton railway, the Bolton canal, and the river Irwell, ¾ of a mile S by E of Clifton Junction r. station, and 4 N W of Manchester; and has a post-office, under Manchester. The town-ship comprises 930 acres. Real property, £17,439; of which £3,795 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 2,750; in 1861, 3,548. Houses, 672. There are numerous good residences; coal is extensively worked; and the cotton manufacture is carried on. The chapelries are P., St. John and P. Christchurch; and were constituted in respectively 1843 and 1861. Pop. in 1861, 2,610 and 3,170. Houses, 499 and 616. The livings are p. curacies in the diocese of Manchester. Value of St. John, £200; * of Christchurch, £219. Patrons of St. John, Trustees; of Christchurch, the Bishop of Manchester. The churches are stone structures; St. John's plain, Christchurch in the early English style. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and two national schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Salford library.Cemeteries
- Langley Rd, Cemetery, Agecroft
- Christ Church, Pendlebury Lane, Church of England
- St Augustine, Moor Street, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Bolton Road, Church of England
- Bethel, Chapel Street, Independent
- Langley Road, Jewish Cemetery, Agecroft
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pendlebury.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Pendlebury Lane, Assemblies of God
- Christ Church, Pendlebury Lane, Church of England
- St Augustine, Moor Street, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Bolton Road, Church of England
- Bolton Road, Evangelical
- Bethel, Chapel Street, Independent
- Bethel, Station Road, Primitive Methodist
- St Mark, Station Road, Roman Catholic
- Station Road, Salvation Army
- Ellesmere St, United Methodist Free Church
- Happy Land, Dumbell Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Moss Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Victoria, Bolton Rd formerly Moss Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Bolton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pendlebury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Pendlebury area is Salford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pendlebury which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pendlebury to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Pendlebury was a township in the parish of Eccles.History
A description of Pendlebury in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Pendlebury and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD783022 (Lat/Lon: 53.516016, -2.328736), Pendlebury which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pendlebury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

