Pennington
|
|
|
|
PENNINGTON, a township and a chapelry in Leigh parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Wiganand Leigh canal, adjacent to the Bolton and Leigh railway; and contains part of the town of Leigh. Acres, 1,437. Real property, £13,666. Pop. in 1851, 4,573; in 1861, 5,015. Houses, 1,000. Pop. of the Leigh town portion, in 1861, 4,496. Houses, 901. The chapelry includes only a section of the township, and was constituted in 1846. Rated property, £8,229. Pop. in 1861, 2,803. Houses, 531. The property is much sub-divided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £220.* Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1854, and is in the later English style.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pennington.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Schofield Street, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pennington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Pennington area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pennington which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pennington to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Pennington was a township in the parish of Leigh.Maps
View maps of Pennington and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ654994 (Lat/Lon: 53.490156, -2.522965), Pennington which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pennington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

