Pennington in Furness

Select map to view larger area
PENNINGTON, a parish in Ulverston district, Lancashire; near the Furness railway, 1¾ mile W S W of Ulverston. It has a post-office under Ulverston. Acres, 2,767. Real property, 18,436; of which 7,500 are in mines, and 2,732 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 489; in 1861, 879. Houses, 163. The increase of pop. arose from extension of mining operations. The property is subdivided. The manor belongs to the Pennington family. Iron ore is very largely mined. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 260.* Patron, the Duchy of Lancaster. The church was rebuilt in 1825. There is a parochial school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Pennington in Furness.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pennington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Pennington in Furness area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pennington which are provided by:

Directories

Pennington parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pennington in Furness to another place.

Maps

View maps of Pennington and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD263774 (Lat/Lon: 54.187062, -3.130922), Pennington which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pennington in Furness was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.