Pilkington

Select map to view larger area
PILKINGTON, a township in Prestwich parish, and a sub-district in Bury district, Lancashire. The town-ship lies adjacent to the river Irwell and the East Lancashire railway, 5¼ miles N N W of Manchester; is cut into the three sections of Outwood, Unsworth, and Whitefieldor Stand; contains the hamlets of Ringley, Cinderhill, Blackford, and Hollins; is supplied with water from the Bury waterworks, and with gas from the Radcliffe and Pilkington gas-works; has a post-office of Whitefield, under Manchester; carries on industry in coal mines, several large cotton factories, bleach-works, and dye-works; and contains the churches of Ringley, Unsworth, and Stand, seven dis-senting chapels, two endowed grammar schools, and two national schools. Acres, 5,378. Real property, 41,765; of which 2,837 are in mines, and 28 in iron-works. Pop. in 1851, 12,863; in 1861, 12,303. Houses, 2,506. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. Outwood Park and Outwood Lodge are chief residences. The sub-district is nearly identical with the township, differing only in excluding two small uninhabited portions.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Pilkington.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pilkington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Pilkington area is Bury.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pilkington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pilkington to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Pilkington was a township in the parish of Prestwich.

History

A description of Pilkington in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Pilkington and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD787061 (Lat/Lon: 53.551088, -2.322970), Pilkington which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pilkington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.