Pilkington
|
|
|
|
PILKINGTON, a township in Prestwich parish, and a sub-district in Bury district, Lancashire. The town-ship lies adjacent to the river Irwell and the East Lancashire railway, 5¼ miles N N W of Manchester; is cut into the three sections of Outwood, Unsworth, and Whitefieldor Stand; contains the hamlets of Ringley, Cinderhill, Blackford, and Hollins; is supplied with water from the Bury waterworks, and with gas from the Radcliffe and Pilkington gas-works; has a post-office of Whitefield, under Manchester; carries on industry in coal mines, several large cotton factories, bleach-works, and dye-works; and contains the churches of Ringley, Unsworth, and Stand, seven dis-senting chapels, two endowed grammar schools, and two national schools. Acres, 5,378. Real property, £41,765; of which £2,837 are in mines, and £28 in iron-works. Pop. in 1851, 12,863; in 1861, 12,303. Houses, 2,506. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. Outwood Park and Outwood Lodge are chief residences. The sub-district is nearly identical with the township, differing only in excluding two small uninhabited portions.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- United Synagogue Burial Ground, Old Hall Lane, Jewish Cemetery, Whitefield
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pilkington.Church History
Church Records
- St Andrew, Ribble Drive, Hillock, Church of England, Whitefield
- Bury New Road, Congregational, Besses o'' th'' Barn
- Hillock Hebrew Congregation, Beverley Close, Ribble Drive, Jewish, Whitefield
- Whitefield Hebrew Congregation, Park Lane, Jewish, Whitefield
- Bury New Road, Latter Day Saints, Whitefield
- Elms St, Methodist, Whitefield
- Charles St, New Jerusalem, Besses o'' th'' Barn
- Sha'arei Shalom, Elms Street, Reform Synagogue, Whitefield
- St Bernadette, Bury New Road, Roman Catholic, Whitefield
- St Michael, Albert Road / Ribble Drive, Roman Catholic, Whitefield
- Half Acre, Wesleyan Methodist, Besses o'' th'' Barn
- Stonepale, Wesleyan Methodist, Besses o'' th'' Barn
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pilkington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

