Pilling
|
|
|
|
PILLING, a village and a town ship-chapelry in Garstang parish, Lancashire. The village stands near Lancaster bay, 6½ miles W of Scorton r. station, and 6½ N W by W of Garstang; and has a post-office under Preston. The chapelry comprises 8,017 acres. Real property, £6,850. Pop. in 1851, 1,281; in 1861, 1,388. Houses, 234. Much of the land is peat-moss; and large quantities of turf are cut. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £124.* Patrons, E. Hornby and J. Gardner, Esqs. The church was rebuilt in 1735. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a slightly endowed national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Fleetwood and Garstang libraries.Cemeteries
- St John the Baptist, School Lane, Church of England
- St William of York, Garstang Rd, Roman Catholic
- Carr Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pilling.Church History
Church Records
- St John the Baptist, School Lane, Church of England
- St William of York, Garstang Rd, Roman Catholic
- Carr Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pilling area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Pilling area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pilling which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pilling to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Pilling was a township in the parish of Garstang.History
Maps
View maps of Pilling and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD403484 (Lat/Lon: 53.928273, -2.910693), Pilling which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pilling was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

