Pilsworth

Select map to view larger area
PILSWORTH, a township in Middleton parish, Lancashire; 2 miles S E of Bury r. station. Acres, 1, 478. Real property, 4,350; of which 400 are in mines. Pop., 343. Houses, 63. The property belongs to the Earl of Eglinton.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bury library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Pilsworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pilsworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Pilsworth area is Bury.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pilsworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pilsworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Pilsworth was a township in the parish of Middleton.

History

A description of Pilsworth in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Pilsworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD832092 (Lat/Lon: 53.579116, -2.255217), Pilsworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pilsworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.