Poulton le Fylde

Select map to view larger area
POULTON-LE-FYLDE, a small town, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Fylde district, Lancashire. The town stands on the Preston and Wyre railway, at the junction of the branch to Blackpool, near the river Wyre, 5 miles S by E of Fleetwood; conducted commerce as a port on the Wyre, previous to the founding of Fleetwood; is a seat of petty sessions and county courts, and a polling-place; and has a post-office under Preston, a railway station with telegraph, a police station, a church, two dis-senting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a free school, a weekly corn-market on Monday, and fairs on 3 Feb., 13 April, and 3 Nov. The church was rebuilt in 1751; retains a tower of the time of Charles I.; and contains tablets to the families of Brockholes, Hesketh, and Fleetwood. The township comprises 900 acres. Real property, 3,798. Pop., 1,141. Houses, 246. The manor belonged to Roger de Poictiers, and was given to Shrewsbury abbey. The parish contains also the town-ships of Hardhorn-with-Newton, Great and Little Carleton, and Thornton-with-Fleetwood-on-Wyre, and the hamlets of Great Marton and Little Marton; and includes a great extent of coast and foreshore. Acres, 20,666. Real property, 39,367; of which 200 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 7,690; in 1861, 8,665. Houses, 1,418. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 257. Patron, the Rev.Hesketh. The p.curacies of Thornton, Fleetwood, and Marton are separate benefices. The sub-district excludes Little Marton hamlet, but includes Bispham parish and Singleton town-ship. Acres, 29,391. Pop. in 1851, 10,415; in 1861, 12,914. Houses, 2,256.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Poulton library,
Blackpool Old Road,
Poulton-le-Fylde
FY6 7DH

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Poulton le Fylde.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Poulton le Fylde area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Poulton le Fylde area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Poulton le Fylde which are provided by:

Directories

"Poulton (in the Fylde,) a small town in Lancashire, with a market on Monday, situated within 3 miles of Blackpool, 8 from Kirkham, 17 from Preston, and 234 from London. The parish is in the deanery of Amounderness. The living is a vicarage, value in the King's books 7 16s. 8d. and the patron is R. HESKETH, Esq. The manufacture of this part of the country consists chiefly of sail cloth. In the bathing season this town and Blackpool are much frequented, and from the shore being equal to that of Scarborough, are likely to become a fashionable resort in the summer. Poulton has three annual fairs, on the 6th of February, April 13th, and November 3d, for cattle and small wares. The population of Poulton in 1821, was 1,011 inhabitants, viz. 454 males, and 557 females, being an increase since 1811 of 85, and the population of Blackpool, was 749."

Pigot's Directory Lancashire (1822)

"Poulton-in-the-Fylde, a market town and parish, in the hundred and deanery of Amounderness, and in the archdeaconry of Richmond, 234 miles from London, 48 from Liverpool and Manchester, 17 from Preston and 8 from Kirkham; is a small port, under Preston, and one of great antiquity. The church, dedicated to St. Chad, is erected upon the site of the old edifice, which, having stood nearly seven hundred years, was taken down in 1751. The other places of worship are for the independents and Wesleyan methodists, Roman catholics and quakers, each of which sect have a meeting-house. This place is much frequented in the bathing season; and its real population is upon the increase; in 1811, 4,031 persons were in the whole parish, of which number 1,011 belonged to the township of Poulton."

Pigot's Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire (1828)

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Poulton le Fylde to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Poulton contained the townships of Poulton, Thornton, Carleton, Hardhorn with Newton and Marton.

History

Maps

View maps of Poulton le Fylde and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Poulton in relation to other places in the Fylde.

A map of Poulton around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD348394 (Lat/Lon: 53.846729, -2.992524), Poulton le Fylde which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Poulton le Fylde was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

Poulton-le-Fylde Historical & Civic Society can be contacted via email to Christine Storey

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.