Poulton le Sands

Poulton le Sands is now better known as Morecambe.

Select map to view larger area
POULTON-LE-SANDS, a sea-port village, a town-ship, and a chapelry, in Lancaster parish, Lancashire. The village is conjoint with Morecambe village; stands on a bight of Morecambe bay, at the terminus of a railway from Lancaster, 3¼ miles W N W of Lancaster; is a sub-port to Lancaster, and a sea-bathing place; shares in the facilities of Morecambe post-office and railway station; and has, conjointly with that village, gas-works, water-works, two good hotels, many excellent lodging-houses, good sea-bathing appliances, a fine promenade, and a four-gun battery. The township contains also the villages of Bare and Torrisholme. Acres, 1,641. Real property, 7,951. Pop. in 1851, 1,301; in 1861, 2,236. Houses, 433. The chapelry is nearly conterminate with the township, and was constituted in 1860. Pop. in 1861, 2,228. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 180.* Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church is a neat building, with a tower. There are an Independent chapel, with a good spire; a Wesleyan chapel, erected in 1855; a Primitive Methodist chapel; and an endowed school, with 31 a year.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Morecambe library,
Central Drive
MORECAMBE LA4 5DL

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Poulton le Sands.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Poulton le Sands area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Poulton le Sands area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Poulton le Sands which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Poulton le Sands to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Poulton le Sands was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Poulton le Sands in now known as Morecambe. The name Morecambe was taken from the name of the bay itself, Mwr Cwm - of Celtic origin, and used as the name of the railway (Morecambe Harbour Railway) which opened in 1848. It was originally built as the Lune was silting up and only small ships were able to travel up the river to Lancaster. The improved accessibilty led to the growth of Morecambe as a resort.

On 29th March 1889, the Local Board and Post Master General agreed to change the official name of joint townships of Poulton, Bare and Torrisholme to that of Morecambe - the name by which the resort had been known since its inception.

Maps

View maps of Poulton le Sands and places within its boundaries.

A map of Morecambe West, Central and East around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD439645 (Lat/Lon: 54.073364, -2.858847), Poulton le Sands which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Poulton le Sands was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.