Preesall with Hackensall

Select map to view larger area
PREESALL-WITH-HACKENSALL, a township in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; on Lancaster bay and the river Wyre, opposite Fleetwood. Acres, 3,860; of which 965 are water. Real property, 5,351. Pop., 812. Houses, 180. The manor, with Parrox Hall, belongs to D. H. Elletson, Esq. A cemetery for this township and for Stalmine-with-Stainall, was formed in 1856; and there is an Independent chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Fleetwood and Garstang libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Preesall with Hackensall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Preesall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Preesall with Hackensall area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Preesall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Preesall with Hackensall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Preesall with Hackensall was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

History

Maps

View maps of Preesall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD365473 (Lat/Lon: 53.917935, -2.968327), Preesall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Preesall with Hackensall was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.