Prescot
|
|
|
|
PRESCOT, a town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands 2 miles N E of Huyton r. station, 2 N W of Rainhill r.station, and 8 E by N of Liverpool; is a seat of petty sessions; publishes a weekly newspaper; carries on extensive manufacture of watch-movements, watch-tools, and files; participates in the coal trade; contains breweries and manufactories of coarse earthenware and sanitary tubes; and has a head post-office, a town hall, a church, three dis-senting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a grammar school, a public lending library, a floral and horticultural society, a harmonic society, several endowed alms-houses, and aggregate charities £898. The town includes all P. township, and part of Eccleston township. Pop. in 1851, 7,393; in 1861, 6,066. Houses, 1,204. The township comprises 270 acres. Real property, £15,224; of which £1,500 are in mines, and £60 in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 6,393; in 1861, 5,130. Houses, 1,015. Pop. in 1851, 46,527; in 1861, 63,540. Houses, 11,288. The living of Prescot is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, £1,200.* Patron, Kings College, Cambridge. more ...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Knowsley library.Cemeteries
- St Mary, Church St, Church of England
- Atherton St, Unitarian
- Houghton St, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Prescot.Church History
Prescot parish church.Church Records
- St Mary, Church St, Church of England
- Aspinall St, Congregational
- Ebenezer, New Rd, Independent
- Our Lady Immaculate & St Joseph, Vicarage Place, Roman Catholic
- Atherton St, Unitarian
- Atherton St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Houghton St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Prescot area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Prescot area is Prescot.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Prescot which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Prescot to another place.Genealogy
ENG-LAN-PRESCOT is an e-mail list for Prescot genealogy.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Prescot contained the townships of Prescot, Rainford, Windle, Parr, Eccleston, Sutton, Whiston, Rainhill, Bold, Cronton, Ditton, Widnes, Cuerdley, Penketh and Great Sankey.
History
Some information about the history of Prescot.Maps
View maps of Prescot and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ465927 (Lat/Lon: 53.428353, -2.806659), Prescot which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Prescot workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Prescot was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

