Preston
|
|
|
|
PRESTON, a town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands on a tabular eminence, adjacent to the S end of the Lancaster canal and to the N bank of the river Ribble, at aconvergence of railway s, near the expansion of the Ribbleinto estuary, 14 miles E N E of that estuary's mouth, and 21¼ S by W of Lancaster; is so situated, with referenceto the Ribble's navigation, as to be a head port; and has railway communication with all parts of the kingdom, by lines diverging at or near it toward Lancaster, Fleetwood, Liverpool, Warrington, Manchester, Blackburn, and Longridge. The town has a head post-office, two receiving post-offices, a general railway station, two telegraph offices, five banking offices, and five chief inns; is a seat of quarter sessions, petty sessions, and county courts, and a polling place; and publishes two weekly and two bi-weekly newspapers. Markets are held on Wednesdays and Saturdays; a fair for horses begins on the Monday before the Saturday after Epiphany, and continues a week; and fairs for cattle and earthen-ware are held on 27 March, 25 Aug., and 7 Nov. A cotton trade struck root early, grew rapidly, and is now carried on in 72 factories. There are also three flax-mills, several iron and brass foundries, and a variety of establishments for the making of engines, steam-boilers, rollers, mules, and spindles. Ship-building is carried on in four yards; and the making of railway carriages, railway wagons, and all other kinds of railway stock and plant, is carried on by an extensive company. The township of P. comprises 2,081 acres. Real property, in 1860, £314,390. Pop. in 1851, 68,537; in 1861, 81,101. Houses, 14,732. more ...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at the
Reference & Information Dept.
Harris Library,
Market Place
PRESTON PR1 2PP
Telephone 01772 532676
Fax 01772 555527
Email: mailto:harris.reference@lcl.lancscc.gov.uk
Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Bow Lane, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Trinity Square, Church of England
- St George the Martyr, Georges Road, Church of England
- St James, Knowsley St, Church of England
- St John, Church Street, Church of England
- St Mary, St Mary's St, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's Square, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's Square, Church of England
- St Saviour, Leeming St, Church of England
- St Thomas, Lancaster Road North, Church of England
- Church St, Presbyterian
- St Augustine of Canterbury, St Austin's Place, Roman Catholic
- St Ignatius, St Ignatius Square, Roman Catholic
- St Wilfrid, Chapel Street, Roman Catholic
- St George's Rd formerly Friargate, Society of Friends
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Preston.Church History
Church Records
- Elcho St, Baptist
- Grimshaw St formerly Leeming St, Baptist
- Carey, Pole St, Baptist
- Zoar, Regent Street, Baptist
- Hammond St, Christadelphian
- Elcho St, Christian Fellowship
- All Saints, Elizabeth Street, Church of England
- Christ Church, Bow Lane, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Brook Street, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Trinity Square, Church of England
- St Barnabas, St Paul's Rd, Church of England
- St George the Martyr, Georges Road, Church of England
- St Hilda, Beaconsfield Ave, Church of England
- St James, Knowsley St, Church of England
- St John, Church Street, Church of England
- St Jude, St Paul's Rd, Church of England
- St Luke, Fletcher's Rd, Church of England
- St Mark, Wellington Terrace, Church of England
- St Mary, St Mary's St, Church of England
- St Matthew, Acregate Lane/ Alston Street, Church of England
- St Matthew, New Hall Lane, Church of England
- St Oswald, Harewood Road, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's Square, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's Square, Church of England
- St Philip, Kent St, Church of England
- St Saviour, Leeming St, Church of England
- St Stephen, Bird Street, Church of England
- St Thomas, Lancaster Road North, Church of England
- Corporation Street, City Mission
- Lancaster Rd South, Congregational
- Lancaster Road North, Elim Pentecostal
- Bethel, Delaware Street, Evangelical
- Wycliffe Memorial, Tulketh Brow, Evangelical
- St Aidan, Elcho St, Evangelical Church of England
- St David, Eldon Street, Free Church of England
- Ashmoor St, Free Gospel
- Cannon St, Independent
- Church St, Independent
- Grimshaw St formerly Leeming St, Independent
- St Mark, Pole St, Lady Huntingdons Connexion
- Eldon Street, Methodist
- Lord St, Methodist New Connexion
- Fishergate, Particular Baptist
- Church St, Presbyterian
- St Paul's Square, Presbyterian
- Brook St, Primitive Methodist
- Deepdale Mill St, Primitive Methodist
- Fylde Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Saul St, Primitive Methodist
- Our Lady of Victories, East Cliff, Roman Catholic
- St Augustine of Canterbury, St Austin's Place, Roman Catholic
- St Gregory the Great, Blackpool Road, Roman Catholic
- St Ignatius, St Ignatius Square, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Skeffington Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Friargate, Roman Catholic
- St Thomas of Canterbury and the English Martyrs, Garstang Road, Roman Catholic
- St Walburge, Pedder St, Roman Catholic
- St Wilfrid, Chapel Street, Roman Catholic
- Grimshaw St, Seventh Day Adventist
- St George's Rd formerly Friargate, Society of Friends
- James Gardiner Christian Spiritualist Church, Bluebell Place, Off Church St, Spiritualist
- Avenham Rd, Swedenborgian
- Liverpool St, United Methodist Free Church
- Moor Lane, United Methodist Free Church
- Barlow St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Bridge St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ellen St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Garstang Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Lune St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Marsh Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Moor Park, Wesleyan Methodist
- North Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ribbleton Ave, Wesleyan Methodist
- St Mary's St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Mission School Chapel, Edward St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Preston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Preston area is Preston and South RibbleDescription and Travel
A description of Winckley Square.You can see pictures of Preston which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Preston to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Preston contained the townships of Preston, Ashton, Lea, Cottam and Ingol, Barton, Broughton, Haighton, Ribbleton, Grimsargh and Brockholes, Elston, and Fishwick.History
The history of Preston from Pigot's Lancashire directory, 1830.A description of Preston in times past.
Maps
View maps of Preston and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD540294 (Lat/Lon: 53.758913, -2.699217), Preston which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Preston workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Preston was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

