Prestwich
|
|
|
|
PRESTWICH, a small town, a township, and a sub-district, in Manchester district, and a parish partly alsoin Oldham and Bury districts, Lancashire. The town stands 1¼ mile E N E of the river Irwell, 1½ E by N of Clifton-Junction r. station, and 4 N N W of Manchester; contains numerous good residences; and has a post-office under Manchester, two churches, two Wesleyan chapels, a Jewish cemetery, a national school, a British school, a workhouse, the Lancashire lunatic asylum, and charities £164. St. Bartholomew's church is later English; consists of nave, aisles, two terminal chapels, and a chancel, with a tower 85 feet high; and contains a fine reredos erected in 1865, and several handsome monuments. St. Margaret's church was founded in 1848, by the Duchess of Cambridge. One of the Wesleyan chapels was built in 1867 The national school was built in 1866, at a cost of about £2,800; and is in the early English style, with high-pitched roof and brick tower. The lunatic asylum stands in the centre of extensive grounds; is a range of structures in brick, with stone facings; underwent enlargement about 1862; and has accommodation for about 1,000 patients. The workhouse is one of three for Manchester district; and, at the census of 1861, had 66 in-mates. The township comprises 1,906 acres. Real property, £21,725. Pop. in 1851, 4,096; in 1861, 5,288. Houses, 973. The sub-district contains also Great Heaton and Little Heaton townships, and comprises 3,281 acres. Pop. in 1851, 5,046; in 1861, 6,285. Houses, 1,168. The parish contains also the townships of Pilkington, Oldham, Chadderton, Tonge, Alkrington, Royton, and Crompton; and is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of Prestwich, Hollinwood, Ringley, Prestolee, Oldham, St. Mary, O., St. Peter, O., St. James, Chadderton, St. John, C., St. Matthew, Coldhurst, East Crompton, Glodwick, Werneth, Waterhead, Royton, Shaw, Unsworth, and Tonge-with-Alkrington. Acres, 21,625. Pop. in 1851, 94,470; in 1861, 117,961. Houses, 23,039. The living of Prestwich is a rectory united with the chapelry of St. Margaret, and all the other livings are p.curacies, in the diocese of Manchester. Value of the rectory, £1,230.* Patron, the Earl of Wilton. The other livings are noticed in the articles on their own several localities.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bury library.Cemeteries
- St Margaret Holyrood, St Margaret's Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Lane, Church of England
- Great Synagogue Cemetery, Bury New Rd, Jewish Cemetery
- Rainsough Jewish Cemetery, Butterstile Lane, Jewish Cemetery
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Prestwich.Church History
Church Records
- Holy Mother of Zyrovicy, Chapel Rd, Byelorussian Autocephalic Orthodox Church, Rainsough
- St Andrew, Woodward Road, Church of England, Carr Clough
- St Gabriel, Bishops Rd, Church of England
- St Hilda, Whittaker Lane, Church of England
- St Margaret Holyrood, St Margaret's Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Lane, Church of England
- St George, Nutt Lane, Church of England, Simister
- Newtown St, Congregational
- Venwood Road, Gospel Hall
- Beis Mordechai Synagogue, 90 Kings Road, Jewish
- Damesek Eliezer Synagogue (Prestwich Beth Hamedrash), Kings Road, Sedgley Park, Jewish
- Higher Prestwich Hebrew Congregation, Highbury House, Bury Old Road, Jewish
- Holy Law South Broughton Hebrew Congregation, Bury Old Road, Jewish
- North Manchester Jewish Congregation, Bury Old Rd, Jewish
- Prestwich Hebrew Congregation, Bury New Road, Jewish
- Sedgley Park Synagogue (Shomrei Hadass Synagogue), Parkview Road, Jewish
- United Synagogue and Beth Hamedrash Hagadol, Meade Hill Road, Jewish
- Chester St, Primitive Methodist
- Corday Lane, Primitive Methodist, Unsworth
- Our Lady of Grace, Fairfax Road, Roman Catholic
- Bury New Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Heaton Park Methodist, Bury Old Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Chapel Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Rainsough
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Prestwich area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Prestwich area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Prestwich which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Prestwich to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Prestwich contained the townships of Prestwich, Pilkington, Unsworth, Little Heaton, Great Heaton,History
A description of Prestwich in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Prestwich and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD817033 (Lat/Lon: 53.526034, -2.277525), Prestwich which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Prestwich workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Prestwich was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

