Priest Hutton

Select map to view larger area
HUTTON-PRIEST, a township in Warton parish, Lancashire; near the Kendal canal, the Lancaster and Carlisle railway, and the boundary with Westmoreland 2¼ miles S of Burton-in-Kendal. Acres, 1,068. Real property, 1,628. Pop., 218. Houses, 47. There is an endowed school for girls.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Priest Hutton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Priest Hutton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Priest Hutton area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Priest Hutton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Priest Hutton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Priest Hutton was a township in the parish of Warton.

Maps

View maps of Priest Hutton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD531736 (Lat/Lon: 54.156067, -2.719676), Priest Hutton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Priest Hutton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.