Quernmore

Select map to view larger area
QUERNMOOR, a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; 3 miles E S E of Lancaster r. station. Post-town, Lancaster. Acres, 6,593. Real property, 5,611. Pop., 563. Houses, 104. Q. Park and most of the land belong to W. J. Garnett, Esq. Escowbeck Hall is the seat of J. Greg, Esq. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 170.* Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church was rebuilt in 1861, at a cost of 3,000; and is in the decorated English style, with a tower. There are a Quakers' chapel and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Quernmore.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Quernmore area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Quernmore area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Quernmore which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Quernmore to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Quernmore was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Maps

View maps of Quernmore and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD519590 (Lat/Lon: 54.024746, -2.735724), Quernmore which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Quernmore was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.