Radcliffe
|
|
|
|
RADCLIFFE, a small town, a parish, and a sub-district, in Bury district, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Irwell, near the influx of the Roach, and on the Manchester and Bury railway, adjacent to the Boltonand Bury canal, 2½ miles S S W of Bury; took its name from a red cliff on the opposite side of the Irwell; consists of two parts, called Radcliffe and Radcliffe-Bridge, about ½ a mile asunder; carries on bleaching, paper-making, cotton-spinning, calico-printing, gingham, fustian, nankeen, and check-weaving, machine-making, iron-founding, and small-ware manufacture; has several collieries; and has a post-office under Manchester, a railway station of Radcliffe-Bridge, with telegraph, a good inn, a police station, a market house built in 1851 at a cost of £1,500, a bridge over the Irwell, two churches, three dis-senting chapels, four national schools, an agricultural show on 28 Sept., races about the middle of Aug., a fair on 29 Sept., and charities £9. The parish church is ancient, of various dates; has a low massive tower; and includes a chapel restored in 1845, and a N transept added in 1846. St. Thomas' church, at Radcliffe-Bridge, was built in 1819, at a cost of £5,000; was rebuilt in 1865, at a cost of £7,274; is in the perpendicular English style; and contains 1,200 sittings. The parish contains also part of Starling village, and comprises 2,466 acres. Real property, £35,800; of which £8,940 are in mines, and £1,439 in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 6,293; in 1861, 8,838. Houses, 1,726. The manor belongs to the Earl of Wilton. R. Tower, now a ruin, was formerly a great manorial mansion. The living is a rectory, and that of St. Thomas is a p. curacy, in the diocese of Manchester. Value of the former, £500; * of the latter, £300.* Patron of both, the Earl of Wilton. The sub-district excludes two small portions of the parish, but includes portions of three other parishes. Pop., 8,972. Houses, 1,754.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bury library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery Rd, Cemetery
- St Andrew, St Andrew's Rd, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Radcliffe New Rd, Church of England
- St Mary and St Bartholomew, Church Green, off Bury St, Church of England
- St Thomas, Blackburn Street, Church of England
- Cemetery Rd, East Lancashire Crematorium
- Stand Lane, Independent, Stand
- Stand Lane, New Jerusalem
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Radcliffe.Church History
Church Records
- Trinity, Church St, Baptist
- Trinity, Westminster Ave, Baptist
- St Andrew, St Andrew's Rd, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Radcliffe New Rd, Church of England
- St Mary and St Bartholomew, Church Green, off Bury St, Church of England
- St Thomas, Blackburn Street, Church of England
- Water St, Congregational
- Cemetery Rd, East Lancashire Crematorium
- St Paul, Ringley Rd West, Free Church of England
- Stand Lane, Independent, Stand
- Bridgefield St, Independent Methodist
- Black Moss/Bolton Rd, Methodist
- Ainsworth Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Smryna Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Stand Lane, New Jerusalem
- Stand Lane, Pentecostal
- Chapelfield, Primitive Methodist
- Railway St, Primitive Methodist
- St Mary and St Philip Neri, Belgrave St, Roman Catholic
- St Mary and St Philip Neri, Spring Lane, Roman Catholic
- Victoria St, Society of Friends
- Stand Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Ainsworth Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Bury Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Radcliffe Close
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Radcliffe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Radcliffe area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Radcliffe which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Radcliffe to another place.History
A description of Radcliffe in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Radcliffe and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD783073 (Lat/Lon: 53.561857, -2.329091), Radcliffe which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Radcliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

