Rainhill
|
|
|
|
RAINHILL, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Prescot parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the Liverpool and Manchester railway, 9 miles E of Liverpool; carries on manufactures of watch-movements, brooches, and other articles; has also iron-works, a foundry, and a varnish factory; a large engine factory and foundry; and has a station on the railway, a post-office under Prescot, a church, a Wesleyan chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel, and national schools. The church was built in 1837, and enlarged in 1843 and 1868; and consists of nave and aisles, with tower and spire. The Roman Catholic chapel was built by the late B. Bretherton, Esq.; is a large and highly ornate edifice; consists of nave, aisles, and chancel, with a tower; and has, in connexion with it, a school and a convent. The township comprises 1,642 acres. Real property, £8,959; of which £130 are in iron-works. Pop. in 1851, 1,522; in 1861, 2,130. Houses, 384. Numerous villas stand on a hill, and command fine views over the Mersey into Cheshire. The chapelry is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1840. Pop. in 1861, 2,608. Houses, 447. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Rev. J. Brierley.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at St.Helens library.Cemeteries
- St Ann, View Rd, Church of England
- St Bartholomew, Warrington Road/Chapel Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Rainhill.Church History
Church Records
- St Ann, View Rd, Church of England
- Warrington Rd, Congregational
- St Bartholomew, Warrington Road/Chapel Lane, Roman Catholic
- St James, St James Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rainhill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Rainhill area is Knowsley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Rainhill which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rainhill to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Rainhill was a township in the parish of Prescot.Maps
View maps of Rainhill and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ493913 (Lat/Lon: 53.416047, -2.764296), Rainhill which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rainhill was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

