Rampside

Select map to view larger area
RAMPSIDE, a village and a chapelry in Dalton-in-Furness parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the coast, 1 mile N N E of Peel r. station, and 5¼ S by E of Dalton; consists of a few scattered dwellings; is coming into some repute as a watering-place; and has a post-office under Ulverstone, and an inn. The chapelry has no defined limits. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 105* Patron, the Vicar of Dalton. The church is old but good; and there is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Rampside.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rampside area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Rampside area is Barrow in Furness.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rampside which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rampside to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Rampside was a chapelry in the parish of Dalton in Furness.

Maps

View maps of Rampside and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD241663 (Lat/Lon: 54.086998, -3.161833), Rampside which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rampside was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.