Ramsbottom
|
|
|
|
RAMSBOTTOM, a small town and a chapelry in Bury parish, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Irwell and on the East Lancashire railway, 4 miles N of Bury; was the place where the first Sir Robert Peel established calico-printing; carries on cotton spinning, calico-printing, machine-making, rope-making, and iron and brass founding; is governed by a local board, under the act of 1858; and has a post-office under Manchester, a railway -station with telegraph, a commodious inn, a police station, a church, four dis-senting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a public school, an athenĉum, a public library, and an Odd Fellows' hall. The church was built in 1850, at a cost of £3,400; was enlarged shortly before 1868; is in the early English style; and has a memorial window to the late Lord Palmerston, and a tower and spire. The Presbyterian chapel was built in 1834; is a handsome edifice, in the pointed style; and has a lofty pinnacled tower. The chapelry was constituted in 1844. Pop. in 1861, 4,134. Houses, 798. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £170. Patron, alternately the Crown and the Bishop.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bury library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery Rd, Cemetery
- St Andrew, Bolton Street, Church of England
- St Paul, Crow Lane, Church of England
- St Andrew, Bolton Street, Presbyterian
- Manchester Rd, United Reformed
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ramsbottom.Church History
Church Records
- Bolton Street, Baptist
- St Andrew, Bolton Street, Church of England
- St Paul, Crow Lane, Church of England
- Ramsbottom Lane, New Jerusalem
- Carr St, Pentecostal
- St Andrew, Bolton Street, Presbyterian
- Bolton Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Joseph, Bolton Street, Roman Catholic
- Patmos, Peel Brow, United Methodist Free Church
- Manchester Rd, United Reformed
- Market Place, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ramsbottom area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Ramsbottom area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Ramsbottom which are provided by:Directories
David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ramsbottom to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Ramsbottom was located in the township of Tottington Lower End in the parish of Bury.History
Information about the history of Ramsbottom.A description of Ramsbottom in the 19th century.
Maps
View maps of Ramsbottom and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD790169 (Lat/Lon: 53.648173, -2.319173), Ramsbottom which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ramsbottom was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

