Ramsgreave

Select map to view larger area
RAMSGRAVE, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles N by W of Blackburn. Acres, 757. Real property, 1,353. Pop. in 1851, 438; in 1861, 320. Houses, 63. The manor belongs to Lord de Tabley.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ramsgreave.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ramsgreave area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ramsgreave area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ramsgreave which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ramsgreave to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ramsgreave was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Ramsgreave and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD673314 (Lat/Lon: 53.777896, -2.497703), Ramsgreave which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ramsgreave was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.