Rawtenstall

Select map to view larger area
RAWTENSTALL, a town and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The town stands on the Manchester, Bury, and Bacup railway, 8 miles N by E of Bury; was, not long ago, a secluded village; consists now of regular and well-built streets; is a seat of petty sessions, and a polling-place; carries on cotton and woollen manufactures; and has a r. station with telegraph, a post-office under Manchester, a hotel, a mechanics' institution, a church, four dis-senting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, and four large public schools. The church was built in 1837 at a cost of 2,500; and has an embattled tower. The Wesleyan chapel is at Longholme; and was built in 1842, at a cost of nearly 5,000. The United Free Methodist chapel was built in 1862, at a cost of more than 6,000; and is in the Corinthian style. The Unitarian chapel was built in 1853, the Roman Catholic chapel in 1844, each at a cost of 1,500, and are in the pointed style. The chapelry was constituted in 1841. Pop. in 1861, 7,823. Houses, 1,562. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 300.* Patrons, Trustees.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Rawtenstall Library,
Haslingden Road,
Rawtenstall
Rossendale
BB4 6QU

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Rawtenstall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rawtenstall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Rawtenstall area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rawtenstall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rawtenstall to another place.

Maps

View maps of Rawtenstall and places within its boundaries.

A map of Rawtenstall around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD811229 (Lat/Lon: 53.702183, -2.287771), Rawtenstall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rawtenstall was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.