Reddish
|
|
|
REDDISH, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Stockport and Staleybridge railway, near the river Tame at the boundary with Cheshire, 2 miles N by E of Stockport; and has a station on the railway . Post-town, Stockport. Acres, 1,541. Real property, £8,444. Pop. in 1851, 1,218; in 1861, 1,363. Houses, 280. There are some handsome modern residences, inhabited by manufacturers of Stockport. There are also three cotton mills, print-works, and a paper manufactory. The chapelry is much more extensive than the township, was constitutedin 1864, and is called Heaton-Reddish. Pop., about 6,000. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £200. Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1864, at a cost of £2,500; and is in the decorated English style.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- Willow Grove Cemetery, Central Drive, Cemetery
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Reddish.Church History
Church Records
- St Agnes, Reddish Lane, Church of England, North Reddish
- St Elisabeth, Leamington Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Reddish Rd, Church of England
- Christ Church, Lillian Grove, Methodist
- St Joseph, Gorton Road, Roman Catholic
- Rupert Street, Spiritualist
- Sandy Lane, Triangle Church
- Christ Church, Lillian Grove, United Reformed
- Broadstone Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Aspinal, Reddish Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Reddish area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

