Reedley Hallows

Select map to view larger area
REEDLEY-HALLOWS, FILLEY-CLOSE, and NEW-LAUND-BOOTH, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the river Calder, and on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 2 miles N N E of Burnley r. station. Acres, 1,360. Real property, 5,331; of which 3,023 are in mines. Pop., 423. Houses, 75. R. House, R. Grove, Pendleview, and Mountford are chief residences; and there are two cotton factories.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Nelson and Burnley libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Reedley Hallows.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Reedley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Reedley Hallows area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

Local information provided by Pendle.Net.

You can see pictures of Reedley which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Reedley Hallows to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Reedley Hallows was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Reedley and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD849355 (Lat/Lon: 53.815558, -2.230831), Reedley which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Reedley Hallows was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.