Ribby with Wrea

Select map to view larger area
RIBBY-WITH-WREA, a township and a chapelryin Kirkham parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Wyre railway, at Wrea-Green r. station, 1¾ mile W by S of Kirkham; and contains the village of Wrea-Green, which has a wall-box for Kirkham pest-office, under Preston. Acres, 1,366. Real property, 2,832. Pop., 444. Houses, 87. The manor, with R. Hall, belongs to H. H. Hornby, Esq. The chapelry is more extensive than the township. Pop., 918. The living is a p.curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 115. * Patron, the Vicar of Kirkham. The church was built in 1849. There are an endowed school and charities, with aggregately 148.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ribby with Wrea.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wrea Green area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ribby with Wrea area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wrea Green which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ribby with Wrea to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ribby with Wrea was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Wrea Green and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD395314 (Lat/Lon: 53.775403, -2.919519), Wrea Green which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ribby with Wrea was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.