Ribchester

Select map to view larger area
RIBCHESTER, an ancient small town, a township, and a parish, in Preston district, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Ribble, 3¼ miles N W of a station of its own name on the Blackburn and Clitheroe railway, and 5½ N N W of Blackburn; occupies the site of the Roman station Coccium or Rigodunum; was reached, in ancient times, by the tide coming up the Ribble; has yielded multitudes of ancient relics, including Roman altars, columns, statues, marbles, coins, and armour, besides anchors and part of a vessel's hull; carries on hand-loom weaving; and has a post-office under Preston, and fairs on 16 March, 16 April, the Monday before Holy Thursday and 5 Nov. The township comprises 2,093 acres. Real property, 3,459; of which 89 are inquarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,650; in 1861, 1,357. Houses, 261. The decrease of pop. arose from the removal of hand-loom weavers to towns. The manor belongs to J.and J. Fenton, Esqs. A workhouse of Preston districtis here; and, at the census of 1861, had 113 inmates. The parish contains also the townships of Hothersall, Dutton, Alston, and Dilworth. Acres, 8,150. Pop., 3,885. Houses, 751. The property is much subdivided. Cotton-spinning and varions manufactures are carried on at Longridge and Knowl-Green. The living is a vicarage, united with the p. curacy of Stidd, in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 175.* Patron, the Bishop of Manchester. The church is ancient but good; consists of nave, aisles, chancel, and chapel, with a tower; and once had two chantries. The vicarage of Longridge is a separate benefice. There are an Independent chapel at Knowl-Green, places of worship at Longridge, an endowed school with 20 a year, and charities 52.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ribchester.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ribchester area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ribchester area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

Some pictures of Ribchester.

You can see pictures of Ribchester which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ribchester to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Ribchester contained the townships of Ribchester Alston, Hothersall, and Dutton.

History

Some notes on the history of Ribchester prepared by Peter Shearan in connection with his researches into the Hesmondhalgh family.

Maps

View maps of Ribchester and places within its boundaries.

A map of Ribchester around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD649353 (Lat/Lon: 53.812791, -2.534567), Ribchester which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Ribchester workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ribchester was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.