Ringley
|
|
|
|
RINGLEY, a chapelry in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; on the river Irwell, and on the Manchester and Bury and Manchester and Bolton railway s, 6¼ miles N W of Manchester. It has a station, of the name of Ringley-Road, on the M. and Bury railway ; and its post town is Bolton. Pop., 800. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £250.* Patron, the Rector of Prestwich. The church was built in 1851.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- St Saviour, Fold Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ringley.Church History
Church Records
- Emmanuel, Fold Road, Church of England
- St Saviour, Fold Road, Church of England
- Top o' th' Brow, New Jerusalem
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ringley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Ringley area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Ringley which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ringley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Ringley was a chapelry in the township of Pilkington, in the parish of Prestwich.History
A description of Ringley in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Ringley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD767051 (Lat/Lon: 53.542014, -2.353082), Ringley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ringley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

