Rishton
|
|
|
|
RISHTON, a village and a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the East Lancashire railway and the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 3½ miles N E by E of Blackburn; and has a station on the railway, and a post-office under Blackburn. The township contains also the hamlet of Tottleworth, and comprises 2,760 acres. Real property, £6,044; of which £1,128 are in mines and £231 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 800; in 1861, 1,198. Houses, 215. The manor belongs to H. Petre, Esq. There are a large cotton factory, a large reservoir, collieries, and fire-brick works.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Accrington library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Rishton.Church History
Church Records
- Commercial Street, Baptist
- St Peter and St Paul, Blackburn Road, Church of England
- Derby St, Congregational
- Albert Street, Methodist
- School St, Primitive Methodist
- St Charles Borromeo, St Charles Road, Roman Catholic
- Mary St, United Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rishton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Rishton area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Rishton which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rishton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Rishton was a township in the parish of Blackburn.Maps
View maps of Rishton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD725302 (Lat/Lon: 53.767412, -2.418689), Rishton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Military History
Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rishton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

