Rivington
|
|
|
|
RIVINGTON, a village, a township-chapelry, and a sub-district, in Chorley district, Lancashire. The village stands on the side of a hill, 2 miles E N E of Adlington r. station, and 4 S E of Chorley; overlooks the large reservoir of the Liverpool water-works; and has a post-office under Chorley. The chapelry comprises 2,630 acres; and is in Bolton-le-Moors parish. Real property, £2,153. Pop., 369. Houses, 82. The property is divided among a few. R. Hall, Gillbrook Hall, and Beech House are chief residences. R. Pike is a mountain 1,345 feet high, and had formerly a beacon. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £90* Patrons, the Inhabitants. The church is tolerable; and there are a Presbyterian chapel, and an endowed grammar-school with £310 a year. The sub-district contains also another township of Bolton, and three of Standish. Acres, 7,742. Pop., 3,493. Houses, 676.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Rivington.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rivington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Rivington area is Chorley.Description and Travel
Some pictures and historical information.You can see pictures of Rivington which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rivington to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Rivington was a township in the parish of Bolton.History
A description of Rivington in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Rivington and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD626144 (Lat/Lon: 53.624785, -2.566965), Rivington which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rivington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

