Rixton with Glazebrook

Select map to view larger area
RIXTON, a township and a sub-district in Warrington parish and district, Lancashire. The township lies 5½ miles E by N of Warrington, and bears the name of Rixton-with-Glazebrook. Acres, 2,840. Real property, 4,298. Pop., 752. Houses, 151. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, and charities 9. The sub-district contains also two other townships. Acres, 5,517. Pop., 1,920. Houses, 379.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Rixton with Glazebrook.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rixton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Rixton with Glazebrook area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rixton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rixton with Glazebrook to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Rixton with Glazebrook was a township in the parish of Warrington.

Maps

View maps of Rixton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ688904 (Lat/Lon: 53.409474, -2.470827), Rixton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rixton with Glazebrook was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.