Roughlee Booth

Select map to view larger area
ROUGH-LEE-BOOTH, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; at the E end of Pendle forest, 3½ miles W of Colne r. station, and 6 N W of Burnley. Acres, 1,320. Real property, 2,287. Pop. in 1851, 719; in 1861, 424. Houses, 99. The decrease of pop. was caused by the removal of hand-loom weavers. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch. There are a cotton factory and a Wesleyan chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Roughlee Booth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Roughlee area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Roughlee Booth area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

Local information provided by Pendle.Net.

You can see pictures of Roughlee which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Roughlee Booth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Roughlee Booth was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Roughlee and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD844403 (Lat/Lon: 53.858686, -2.238671), Roughlee which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Roughlee Booth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.