Royton
|
|
|
|
ROYTON, a large village, a township-chapelry, and a sub-district, in Oldham district, Lancashire. The village stands at the terminus of the Manchester, Oldham, and Royton railway, near the junction with it of the Oldham and Rochdale railway, 2 miles N N W of Oldham; is a place of some antiquity and note; numbers among its natives the mathematicians Butterworth and Kay, and the botanist Mellor; carries on industry in large cotton factories; and has a post-office under Oldham, a railway station with telegraph, another r. station at R. r. junction, a police station, a public-bath, a church, three dis-senting chapels, a national school, and several libraries, improvement societies, and other insituations. The chapelry comprises 1,352 acres, and is in Prestwich parish, and within Oldham borough. Real property, £20,566; of which £628 are in mines, and £220 in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 6,974; in 1861, 7,493. Houses, 1,562. The property is not much divided. R. Hall was given, by Edward II., to Sir John de Byron; belongs now, to Sir J. Radcliffe, Bart., the chief landed proprietor; and has been divided into tenements. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300.* Patron, the Rector of Prestwich. The sub-district contains also the township of Thornham, and comprises 3,350 acres. Pop. in 1851, 8,484; in 1861, 9,520. Houses, 1,941.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Oldham library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery Rd, Cemetery
- St Paul, Church St, Church of England
- Turf Lane, Society of Friends, Heyside
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Royton.Church History
Church Records
- Oldham Road, Baptist
- St Mark, Perth St, Church of England, Heyside
- All Saints, Rochdale Lane, Church of England
- St Anne, St Anne's Ave, Longsight, Church of England
- St Paul, Church St, Church of England
- Hebron St, Congregational, Heyside
- Middleton Rd, Congregational
- Independent Methodist
- Trinity, Radcliffe St, Methodist
- Spring Garden St, Moravian
- Bethesda, Rochdale Rd, Particular Baptist
- Oldham Road, Primitive Methodist
- Zion, Fir Lane, Primitive Methodist
- St Aidan and St Oswald, Vaughan Street, Roman Catholic
- Spring Garden St, Salvation Army
- Turf Lane, Society of Friends, Heyside
- Shaw Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Higginshaw
- Edge Lane Road formerly Lawson St, Wesleyan Methodist, Higginshaw
- Manchester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Luzley Brook
- St John, Chapel St, Wesleyan Methodist
- St John, Market Street, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Royton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Royton area is Oldham.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Royton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Royton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Royton was a township in the parish of Oldham.History
A description of Royton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Royton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD918077 (Lat/Lon: 53.565840, -2.125287), Royton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Royton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

