Rufford

Select map to view larger area
RUFFORD, a village and a parish in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Douglas, near the Liverpool and Preston railway, 5½ miles N N E of Ormskirk; is a seat of petty-sessions; and has a station on the railway, a post-office under Ormskirk, and a cattle fair on 13 May. The parish contains also the hamlet of Holmes-Wood, and comprises 3,102 acres. Real property, 6,185. Pop., 865. Houses, 149. The manor and most of the land belong to Sir Thomas G. Hesketh, Bart. The New Hall is Sir Thomas' seat; and the Old Hall is the residence of the Dowager Lady Hesketh. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 495. Patrons, the Representatives of the late L. Starkie. The church is of brick, with a bell-cupola. There are an endowed school for girls, a school for boys, and charities 22.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Rufford.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rufford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Rufford area is West Lancashire.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rufford which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rufford to another place.

Maps

View maps of Rufford and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD458155 (Lat/Lon: 53.633199, -2.821147), Rufford which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rufford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.