Rumworth
|
|
|
|
RUMWORTH, a township in Deane parish, Lancashire; 2 miles W S W of Bolton. Acres, 1,300. Real property, £7,504; of which £1,000 are in mines. Pop.in 1851, 1,386: in 1861, 1,861. Houses, 391. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of a cotton-mill and of weaving sheds. Whitebank and Rhuddylan House are chief residences. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and charities £40.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Rumworth.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rumworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Rumworth area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Rumworth which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Rumworth to another place.Historical Geography
RUMWORTH: This township or parish was in Lancashire. It was in Deane ecclesiastical parish and in Bolton poor law Union. In 1872 part of it was added to Bolton Borough In 1894 the remainder was renamed Deane township or parish. In 1898 Deane parish became part of Bolton Borough.In 1835 Rumworth was a township in the parish of Deane.
History
A description of Rumworth in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Rumworth and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD683080 (Lat/Lon: 53.567638, -2.480132), Rumworth which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Rumworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

